4-H Camp taught me….

Camp is a lot of things to a lot of different people. Recently I posed the question, what has camp taught you, to summer staff (past and present), teen leaders, 4-H Agents, adult leaders and of course campers. The responses spanned a plethora of topics, so I tried to break them down into categories.

LIFE SKILLS- things you learned at camp that will help you in your everyday life. Like making friends and how to do you hair in 7 minutes or less. All useful skills.

  • How to deal and work with other people.
  • Making friends
  • How to do my hair in 7 minutes or less among other things.
  • New skills and how to teach them to others
  • Shaving my legs in the sink
  • Being flexible in all situations
  • Confidence
  • How everyone’s weird qualities/quirks is really what makes them great
  • Future job skills, like knots, life guarding and public speaking.

LEADERSHIP- things you learned that will help you with future leadership opportunities.  4-H camp gives youth the opportunity to lead others; gaining life-long experiences to help them become our future leaders. Who knows, maybe a future mayor, senator, or even president came to camp last summer.

  • How to be a leader and how to put myself out there and gain confidence.
  • Being a team player
  • Being a good role model
  • Speaking up
  • Patience
  • Being enthusiastic, even in tough situations or on rough days.
  • Empathy
  • Communication
  • Idea sharing

PERSONAL GROWTH – these are personal things our campers have over-come, like being self-conscious or realizing that they are just the right amount of cool. It’s a great thing to see campers coming out of their shell and being the person they truly are inside. Where else can you sing a silly song at the top of your lungs while doing a silly dance and not feel like a fool?

  • Less self-conscious
  • Come out of my shell
  • Finding the good in others
  • Staying positive in tight situations
  • Doing things that I love without worrying about the judgement of others.
  • Going on 4 hours of sleep while being enthusiastic all day.
  • That I’m a valuable piece of a big puzzle.
  • That people care about me, just the way I am
  • More caring personality
  • That being myself was cool enough.
  • How to embrace my uniqueness and weirdness.

What would you add to this list? What did camp teach you? I know my list is probably as long as this, what about yours?\

Heather Benninghove
~ Salmon
Program Director

Leave a Reply

